Tags

, , , , , , , ,

One of the things I’ve discovered while wandering around NYC is stonework and statuary. It’s everywhere: hanging out on street corners…

hidden in gardens…

 

… it’s even parked next to garbage cans.

Sometimes it’s up on a pedestal…

… or dancing away in a courtyard.

And sometimes it leaves me scratching my head. What’s that snarling dog doing in the middle of all that foliage?

And I’m not up on my Greek mythology, so I’m not sure why having a snake-haired creature greeting your guests at the front door is a good thing.

Even a lion would be friendlier.

This is the only photo from an actual sculpture garden, at MoMA.

Working with Diana cameras is an outgrowth of pinhole work. I wanted a camera that could create the dreamy moodiness of a pinhole photo but used a roll of film, so I could carry one camera around instead of six. Somehow I stumbled across plastic cameras, and after rejecting Holgas because the photos were too sharp, I went for the hair-tearing frustration of trying to predict how a Diana will shoot, which is much more interesting to me.

Here’s the book that launched me into the arms of Diana. And here’s a fun book on plastic cameras in general. If you know of any books or photographers with great Diana imagery, I’ll love to hear about it.

