Tags

, , ,

My nephew, Lukas, recently turned seven. Although I’ve documented the events of my sister’s life for the past 20 years or so, with Lukas, I can start almost at the beginning. Because my sister was living in Australia at the time, Lukas and I first met when he was nine months old. The photo below is one of the first shots I took of the two of them together.

Throughout that first visit, I brought my camera with me wherever we went. Below is part of a contact sheet; we’re watching his father playing tennis. Sorry about those big white dots, those are the holes I punched to store the sheet in a binder. I’m lucky that my sister is completely unselfconscious about being photographed, which results in many photos that I really like. My favorite is the 34th frame.

We still live far apart, so we don’t see one another often, but whenever Lukas and I are together, I shoot. Below is a portrait from his most recent visit last Christmas. It’s one of the few shots I have where he isn’t smiling. I like the gravity of his expression. One day I’ll look back and see decades of his life documented. I love that idea.

